Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

image1

I like big “but’s” and I can’t deny… Yup! We all do. It is part of our existence yet we have to get over the fact that we need to get rid of it. HA! I’m sure you’re reading this and believe I’m speaking of what we may know as, “the booty”, “your junk in your trunk” or the ever-quizzical “badankadonk”… but I am not. I’m speaking not of the derrière more of the three letter conjunctional word “BUT”. Mainly used to introduce something contrasting with what has already been mentioned. You see, we need to give up our excuses to God on the “why” we tend to not live moments of completion in order to fulfill our God-given dreams. Ladies and Gents let me break it down a little bit further, we like big excuses and we can’t deny it.

Some simple excuses can go in forms of, “But I’m going to start my diet on Monday because that way I can eat all I want now and be ready to go”, “The term paper is due on Friday but it’s not that big of a deal since it’s only Wednesday… But I still have time”, “You see what happened is that I was going to get my track record strait with God BUT I know I’m not forgiven I’ve done too much stuff”. As mere humans we tend to rationalize, our psyches going into some type of defense mechanism, where we tend to confront controversial thoughts into a logical manner to avoid the truth behind our excuses… Our big BUT theories. The truth is that your scared of what the truth really is. You’re scared of rejection. Your scared of what others may say. You’re scared of thinking God won’t/can’t forgive you. Your either too tired of the situation or as I hear tons of people say, “I’m DONE!”. Many of you know I am a mommy of five precious babies. The statement, “I’m Done” has hit my vocab list more times than I desire. Yet I’ve learned in the recent months how I MUST give up my un/justifiable BUT to God in order to get done what He is demanding in my life to do. I refuse to surrender my drive due to fear of the unknown. You’ve heard of Purpose? You’ve heard of Passions? You’ve heard of Dreams? Right?! Well, in order for them to happen, our excuses of why you can’t needs to go out the window.

In our most recent women’s event at my church, I spoke about why we must give up our excuses and justifications. In our talk, I based this theory on one statement:

Faith is NOT Genetic.

In order for passions, dreams, desires to come into existence one must definitely have some God-given faith that it will come to pass. Yet, you must know that faith is not passed down like a blood type. It must be grown like a seed leading into a strong sycamore tree. (I know I’m speaking to someone out there.) You see, you have dreamt of these ideas since you were a kid. You have seen yourself in that dream as you see your own hand before you. You smile just thinking about it… but your walk to get there is bumpy. Trying. Full of hurdles. Full of doubts. Full of Fears. As it gets more difficult what becomes of your language is a sea of “BUTS”/Excuses. Some may say, “Cynthia, you need to be more realistic with life and know that everything is not perfect” or “you don’t know my situation”. Your right, not all is perfect and not every situation is the same. Yet, I refuse to allow my language to kill that which only God put in me to achieve. STOP KILLING YOUR DREAM! STOP KILLING YOUR HAPPY MOMENT. Go full throttle on being Mr./Ms. Positivity.

Although Faith is not genetic, I’m a strong believer that those dreams and passions were God-given. God has created us since before the creation of the earth. He put the vision in us so now it’s our time to grow it. A good example of such is the story of Joshua, Moses second in command. Once Moses died, God spoke to Joshua and stated,

1After the death of Moses the servant of the Lord, it came to pass that the Lord spoke to Joshua the son of Nun, Moses’ assistant, saying: “Moses My servant is dead. Now therefore, arise, go over this Jordan, you and all this people, to the land which I am giving to them—the children of Israel. Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given you, as I said to Moses. From the wilderness and this Lebanon as far as the great river, the River Euphrates, all the land of the Hittites, and to the Great Sea toward the going down of the sun, shall be your territory. No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you nor forsake you. Be strong and of good courage, for to this people you shall divide as an inheritance the land which I swore to their fathers to give them. Only be strong and very courageous, that you may observe to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go. This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. (Joshua 1:1-9)

 

God spoke to Joshua the vision and the promise of what his purpose was. He placed in his heart and spirit the beauty behind all that was promised not only for Joshua’s sake but for the freedom upon the wonderers of the desert, the Israelites. Yet God reminded Joshua by telling him, “…Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go”. WOW! God had Joshua’s back! Joshua’s faith was being grown into that amazing sycamore tree in order to conquer the lands before him and take the people of Israel out of the dessert. His faith wasn’t handed to him, he had to grow it. Once Joshua gave up any excuse he might have had God made it a point to remind him, “Have I not commanded you?” God made sure to remind Joshua ….. to stay strong in HIM, to seek HIM, to stick to the commands given by HIM because HE/God was the one who called him to do it. We must stay strong in HIM! We must get rid of the excuses that are really a bad justification of fear and move forward to the promises God has for us.

So, as you finish reading this, my prayer is that you dig deep into your spirit. What has caused you to stop trying to go further? You will see in between all the excuses that come out, that one obstacle nuzzled in the far corner is the one you have as your biggest opponent: Fear

Fear is the death of Faith… Yet when we rise up and allow God to imbed in us to be strong and of good courage, our Faith makes a come back and fear will have to leave.

If you relate to what was written here, I want you to say this prayer with me:

Father God,

I know I’m not perfect… I’m far from it. But I’m done being this way. I’m done allowing every excuse to manage my day-to-day life. I’m done allowing fears to govern my thoughts and steps towards the right direction. Today I give my heart and my life back to you. Be the king of my throne as I surrender myself before you. Forgive me of all my past wrongs. Because from now on in all that I do, in all that I am, in all that I go through and in all that I withstand… My help will ALWAYS come from the Lord, the MAKER of heaven and earth. With the Creator by my side, the rising tides will not defeat me. The desert will not destroy me and the winter storms will not keep me in a state of wicked slumber. For strength is my gain and victory my torch! I surrender all to you! In Jesus Name. Amen.

I lift up my eyes to the mountains – where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The Lord watches over you – the Lord is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore. (Psalm 121:1-8 NIV)

Till Next Post

– Cynthia