Tags

, ,

Pearl sized tears came gushing out of her squeezed eyes.  “Mommy, I’m invisible to them! They don’t even see that I’m there.” As she gasps for more air to hit her nostrils, she belts out another heap of sobs. “Then whenever I try to do ANYTHING, Nabiel tells me to get out of the way!!!” Her body went limp in my arms as I gently held her.

This, my friends, is my 7 year-old, eldest daughter, Yadahris who was just plunged into the world of boys and basketball.  Growing up I was just, “Oh her? That’s my little sister”.  Although my brothers HAD TO include me in the majority of their extra curricular activities [just blame my dad on that one] it didn’t always mean I was part of the team… it just meant, I was there.  The majority of the time, I had two options: 1) Be the whimpering kid sister that NO ONE wants to hang out with and completely embarrass my two older brothers {Believe me!!! It was tempting🙂 I’m sure on one or two occasions I made this work} OR 2) Shake off all the melodrama {which no one was paying attention too anyway] and be a part of the laughs and the fun.  Most of the time, I chose option #2 and the grand prize was being free to have FUN.

I’m reminded of the outcast Samaritan woman that Jesus gave a time of day too (John 4:1-42). It was so obvious that she was invisible to society due to her bad decision-making… yet, Jesus found the way to speak into her.  After this experience with Jesus, the Samaritan woman’s eyes were opened.  The word states, “Back in the village she told the people, “Come see a man who knew all about the things I did, who knows me inside and out. Do you think this could be the Messiah?” And they went out to see for themselves”[John 4:29-30].  She was the one they outcast but now were listening too.  She no longer was… what’s that word??? Oh yeah, INVISIBLE!  This woman dealt with her own invisibility and chose to become visible.

As I told my little girl once she recomposed herself in my arms, “The only one that can make you feel invisible, is you! Go back out there and shoot some hoops.  They dont’ determine how happy you will be… only YOU can!”

What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step. [Faith]
C. S. Lewis

-Cynthia